Why does the Declaration of Independence have a Blog?

It might be appropriate to begin this blog with a lofty observation on civic education in America… Or I could launch into a lengthy discourse on the importance of looking into history to find inspiration for the present.

But as I think more about it, I find my mind wandering to a subject far less academic and (in my opinion) far more important: the American people.

In my journeys with the Declaration, I’ve met all kinds of people; some are young, some are old, some are rich, some are poor, some are liberal, some are conservative. But – at the risk of sounding corny – all of these people are, first and foremost, patriots. They travel hundreds of miles across state and county lines to stand before the Declaration of Independence, absorb its message, and walk away with a renewed sense of pride and responsibility for their country.

DOILine

A crowd in Beaufort, NC lines up to see the document.

In the year 2000, Norman Lear purchased this copy of the Declaration of Independence with the express purpose of bringing “the people’s document” (as he calls it) to the people. Over the past ten years, the Declaration of Independence Road Trip has visited 40 states and attended events like the Olympics, the Indy 500, and both the Democratic and Republican National Conventions!

As the official docent for the Declaration of Independence, it is my job to bring the Declaration to libraries, schools, and museums across the country so that every American – regardless of geography or economic means – can be inspired by its message. Everywhere I go, I meet passionate and excited people who are working to better their communities and their country. Through this blog, I hope to introduce you to some of these people and give you a sneak peek into my travels and adventures with the Declaration of Independence.

Feel free to send me questions and I’ll do my best to answer them. You can email me at doiroadtrip@gmail.com or follow me on Twitter @doiroadtrip. I look forward to hearing from you!

Leave a Reply

